top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

The Joy of being Bold

I dont think of myself as a boring dresser, but of course there are days when I feel tired, drab, and like I would rather be wearing pajamas. I have a number of garments in my wardrobe that dont get as much wear as others simply because of how bold they are. Every time I wear them I get compliments and people asking for where I bought them. I realised this week that I have been subconciously avoiding these garments for fear of the attention they will bring. The combo of being new at work and feeling like I am constantly screwing things up, along with not feeling great about my body have added to this avoidance. (this is a tale I am sure many women can relate to)

Last week at work the girls at work all agreed to dress extra special on Friday for lunch at a particularly cool restaurant in the Arts District near downtown LA. While making decisions about what to wear I was drawn to my bright coral thigh-split pants. I realized I hadnt worn them in months...maybe an entire year. I challenged myself to wear them for our fancy Friday.

On Friday morning I peered into the mirror, nervous about showing up to work in these pants which require wearing 4" wedges for the full effect. I got to work and began to get comments and compliments. At first I was uncomfortable, thanking people before quickly striding down the hallway to my office. Then something magical began to happen. I started to become more confident and by the end of the day I was doing twirls for people who asked about these magical pants, showing off the details of the construction and fit.

Being bold can be scary. After my fun day on Friday, I am feeling more confident. Next time I feel like reaching for my jeans, flats, and a tee when heading to work, I am going to challenge myself again to be bold. Sometimes we just need that boost of confidence to brighten our day, and I love that fashion can do that!

bottom of page